top of page
rohtech2

A space to heal

Building a retreat space to cope with complex and multifaceted mental health issues has been an interesting challenge. One thing I've noticed is how woefully inadequate the support was for where I was at in the past, thankfully these days I get frequent support, which I need.


Some people have a bachelor pad. I have a pad I've dedicated to healing, navigating distress, managing cognitive issues, evoking positive memories, being creative in, gardening and navigating non-induced altered states safely. I'm extremely selective about leaving the 'hermit hole' or safety of the backyard without supports.





I'm utilising supports more to navigate the world 'out there' but focus on making the 'hermit hole' a place of safety for going through intense states of consciousness and emotions. If you've ever tried to 'act sane' while tripping or breaking down, you know how taxing it is, I have short windows where I can put all my cognitive resources into holding myself together for some relative sanity.


It's taken me a long time to create an environment where I can retreat to have breakdowns and non-ordinary states of consciousness safely. It's a totally vice free zone I maintain these days, aside from my nicotine gum.


I utilise lots of healthy strategies for navigating distress.


I have spots I can go catatonic, flail limbs or even dance


A couch to go into the fetal position in as required


I arm myself with a stash of creative tools to move through intense experiences.


I use lots of sensory modulation tools.


I utilise frequent 'sanity restoration' supports


13 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page