top of page
rohtech2

Core schemas about self and others and psychosis

Updated: Dec 14, 2020

It's been interesting considering how I consider myself and others and how it relates to my psychotic symptoms The way the self is considered in the society of reference is fundamental to an understanding of psychosis.




Core schemas relating to the self and others seem to strongly interrelate with pathology


Re-shaping the schemas away from the self/other-denigrating pathological aspects where "I am an unlovable, worthless, failure who can't do anything right, should just kill myself" and "Everyone else hates me" to growth by fortifying new healthier ones.


I've been able to see that the supportive kind souls are "good, accepting, supportive" and through support workers etc I've slowly been able to move from the "I am unloved, worthless, weak, bad, a failure" to start to rebuild growth around positive values


MYSELF

I am unloved

I am worthless

I am weak

I am vulnerable

I am bad

I am a failure

I am respected

I am valuable

I am talented

I am successful

I am good

I am interesting


OTHER PEOPLE

Other people are hostile

Other people are harsh

Other people are unforgiving

Other people are bad

Other people are devious

Other people are nasty

Other people are fair

Other people are good

Other people are trustworthy

Other people are accepting

Other people are supportive

Other people are truthful


The are associations between negative personal evaluations (described as negative character deficits) and positive psychotic symptoms and people with psychosis showed very extreme negative evaluations of self and others.


Psychosis may be characterized by feelings of social defeat and negative schemas. This social defeat may impact the presence of attenuated psychotic symptoms by means of negative schemas - social adversities can lead to the development of negative schemas that may then relate to psychosis.


Reorientation toward values significant for one's life, despite the fact that certain experiences persist and disturb. Commitment is acting in the direction of values in spite of the distress caused by the symptoms. The question is not to wait until one gets better before going out and living, but rather to act and remake one's life so as to feel better, or at least, to be on the way to something, and not just shut up inside oneself. This reorientation of self-experiences toward values begins with the identification and clarification of one's own values. Social Predictors of Psychotic Experiences: Specificity and Psychological Mechanisms (nih.gov)

9 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page