top of page
rohtech2

Adding the Element of Sacred Rituals to Plants

I feel we can all agree:


The thing is, it's a bit New-Age-y to simply buy some sage and feel you're doing your part to remove some negative 2020 vibes. I don't personally agree with it.


Some of the used plants are endangered and there's some concern over the use of White Sage [1]


I like this quote [1]:


“We do not sell white sage. If you need it as a medicine and we have it, we’re going to give it to you. We discourage selling medicine plants, spiritual plants, because we don’t know if the person collected them in a good way, with a good heart. But if you have white sage growing in your own back yard, you would know because you would be taking care of it.” – Barbara Drake, Tongva Elder


That's where I like to get in healing reciprocal relationships with the plants you use, ie grow them, care for them and respectfully medicine craft from them.


I had some super slow adventures growing Salvia apiana from seed. It's nice as you can give seedlings to friends.


Baby White Sage. It's a nice feeling birthing a plant into the world.

Grown up Sage.


Down the track, you can start crafting. I've included a bit of homegrown mugwort in my smudge stick.



The Sacred Ceremonial Aspects:




In my ceremony [2], I have considered what I need to let go of and hold on to:


"The stories that do not serve you to carry on reading out to your heart; let them compost down, feeding the new stories with medicine, the new ones you will grow and speak from your centre, in place of the old. Let yourself whisper these stories of power to yourself, like a loving parent to a child, as the darkness settles onto the land". ~ Brigit Anna McNeill


For me, the things I need to let go of (which will be fuel for the flame):

Wanting to feel liked by others, I generate my own self-worth based on my growth

Regrets/shame about the past

Hopelessness

Addictive numbing and emotional avoidance

Mindless distractions

Pain/Anger/Self-Hate/Regression


I need to hold on to:

Embracing my inner core as worthy

Hope

Self-care

Growth

Therapeutic alliances

Family and healthy aspects of Self

Creativity

Presence

Self-forgiveness and loving-kindness towards self and others

Love

Compassion


I've chosen this as my Prayer:


Creator, Great Mystery

Source of all knowing and comfort,

Cleanse this space of all negativity.

Open our pathways to peace and understanding.

Love and light fills each of us and our sacred space.

Our work here shall be beautiful and meaningful.

Banish all energies that would mean us harm.

Our eternal gratitude.


– The Medicine Wheel Garden, E. Barrie Kavasch, via [3] I like this song:



16 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page