top of page
rohtech2

Growing Free - how plants can be a means to connect and contribute

Concepts like hope, worth, meaning, purpose, connection and contribution are the mainstays of mental health I'd say yet it's often hard to find those One way I found those was through plants. Things like contributing to a local movement called 'Grow Free' (Give what you can, take what you need') and Trees for Life.


I loved the Grow Free idea so much I borrowed the concept for my own simple Free Plants Box which I have stuck with as often as I can. COVID-19 inspired more plant contributions, reaching out to the community to contribute lots of food seedlings When you're growing from seed you often have more than you need personally so why not make your own plant sharing box for your neighbourhood? It takes the focus off pathology and creates a common ground of 'healing humanity'


It's a heartily wholesome way to grow.



Some reflections:

Slowly people started to take different plants


One month in, having a 'Free Plants Box' has been interesting to see the sorts of plants others are keen to grow. Try to put things in there whenever I can and it's been a successful month - I've said hello to two people vs none otherwise


Down the track...

I met some kind souls, even got given some honey. I felt like I had made a positive difference to other's lives



14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page